up to 75% off publishers’ prices

Examined Lives

Twelve Great Thinkers and the Search for Wisdom, from Socrates to Nietzsche

James Miller

Starting with Socrates who, with his injunction to ‘know thyself’, provided a model of the philosophical life, and ending with Nietzsche, James Miller provides brief biographies of twelve philosophers. The selection includes both canonical figures such as Augustine, Descartes and Kant, and less obvious thinkers including Diogenes, Montaigne and Emerson, but every one of them has ‘struggled to live his life according to a deliberately chosen set of precepts and beliefs’. Previously in Postscript as The Philosophical Life.
Postscript description

Publ £10.99


In stock
Product information:
  • Publisher: Oneworld
  • Year: 2018
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 430pp
  • Illustrated: No
  • Dimensions: 195x128mm
  • ISBN: 9781786072672
  • Condition: New
  • Weight: 0.4kg
Product code:
Product information
Delivery information


Single item order‭: ‬£2.00

Multiple item order‭: ‬£3.00

Next day‭ - ‬all orders‭: ‬£6.00

Standard delivery‭: ‬3-5‭ ‬working days‭ (‬Highlands and Islands 5-7‭ ‬working days‭)‬

Next day delivery‭: ‬Available all UK excluding Highlands and Islands

Collect your order from a local shop – prices and delivery times as above


All orders‭: ‬delivery costs for orders outside the UK are based on country of destination and product weight.

You can view your overseas delivery cost using the Summary section within the Basket‭.‬

For more information on delivery/overseas orders please refer to our Delivery Information.