The Harmonious Musick of John Jenkins


    Music Sale


    Composers & musicians

    The Harmonious Musick of John Jenkins

    Volume One: The Fantasias for Viols

    Andrew Ashbee

    Toccata 1992

    Paperback 359pp

    9780907689355   Product Code: 23105

    During the lifetime of John Jenkins (1592-1678) the English enthusiasm for consort fantasias reached its peak. After a full biographical introduction, this volume focuses on the early part of Jenkins's career, when he composed dozens of fantasias for viols. Andrew Ashbee analyses the compositional techniques used in these contrapuntal works and shows how Jenkins perfected the form, combining 'a wonderful all-pervasive lyricism and a masterly handling of tonality'.

    publ £19.99     was £9.99 sale price £5.99 Qty: