The First Four Notes




    Western classical music

    The First Four Notes

    Beethoven's Fifth and the Human Imagination

    Matthew Guerrieri

    Knopf 2012

    Hardback 359pp 220x150mm

    9780307593283   Product Code: 19348

    'Short enough to remember and portentous enough to be memorable', the opening of Beethoven's Fifth Symphony has been assigned all kinds of artistic, philosophical and political meanings during the two centuries since its composition. The First Four Notes is a survey of the Fifth's cultural influence in China, Russia and the United States, as well as its possible revolutionary origins and its use by both Allies and Nazis during the Second World War.

    publ $26.95     now £5.99 Qty: